deborah cull

photography

Workshop with Susan Stripling March 19, 2009

Filed under: Workshop — Deb @ 11:26 am

As a photographer, I find there’s a balance between being satisfied with my images and desiring to produce greater images. One friend described it as having a mild dissatisfaction with your work – just enough to push yourself to grow. Since I live on the west coast of Florida, I’ve experienced some pretty harsh lighting. Instead of shying away from that light, I made it a goal to learn how to use it. When I saw that Susan Stripling was offering a workshop that would focus on using the harsh Florida light, I jumped on the opportunity.

 

I was so pleased with my decision. Susan is a gifted teacher and an absolute joy to be with. The first part of the workshop focused on how she began her business and grew as a photographer. She explained how she approaches a wedding – lighting, lens choice, locations, everything was discussed. Then we got the opportunity to shoot.

 

Susan’s workshop was different from many workshops in that she explained how she thinks through her shots – everything from lighting to metering – and later in the day we were able to work with the models ourselves. We had 6 model “groups” – 4 couples and 2 girls in their wedding gowns. With only 15 workshop attendees, we were able to work with the models in groups of 2 or 3 and put what we learned into practice! I also loved that the models were normal people – not “models” at all. It’s more challenging, but also more realistic to work with people who have not modeled before.

 

The workshop was a huge success – I developed new skills and ways of using harsh noon or 2 PM light to my advantage! I am looking forward to putting our new skills into practice!

 

Here are some images I created that day:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Workshop with Susan Stripling”

  1. These photo are stunning Deb! See you on Wednesday!


Leave a Reply

